Distinguished Faculty: Steering Committee

Anita Clayton

Interim Chair of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences
David C. Wilson Professor of Psychiatry and
Neurobehavioral Sciences
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Charlottesville, Virginia

Anita H. Clayton, MD, FAPA, IF, is Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences and David C. Wilson Professor of Psychiatry, as well as Professor of Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, Virginia. Dr. Clayton has melded women's mental health and sexual function research primarily involving mood disorders associated with reproductive-life events in women, sexual dysfunction related to illness and medications, and treatment of sexual disorders. She developed and validated several sexual functioning assessment tools including the Changes in Sexual Functioning Questionnaire (CSFQ), available in more than 75 languages, the Sexual Interest and Desire Inventory (SIDI-F), and the Decreased Sexual Desire Screener (DSDS). She co-edited Women's Mental Health: A Comprehensive Textbook, and is the author of Satisfaction: Women, Sex, and the Quest for Intimacy. She has served as President of the International Society for the Study of Women's Sexual Health (ISSWSH), as Co-Chair of the 3rd International Consultation on Sexual Medicine (Women's Section) in 2009, and as a Vice Chair for Women's Sexual Health for the 4th ICSM in 2015. She has also held the following positions: contributing editor for the Journal of Sexual Medicine, member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the Journal of Sex & Marital Therapy and Women's Health, and member of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Clinical Psychopharmacology.

Dr. Clayton's current clinical research projects involve potential new treatments for hypoactive sexual desire disorder, sexual arousal disorder, orgasmic disorder, antidepressant-induced sexual dysfunction, and major depressive disorder.